“Dimitris Karellis” Award Presentation (23/03/2010)

The National Theatre of Northern Greece organizes an honorary event in order to present the “Dimitris Karellis” Award on Friday, March 19th 2010 at the Royal Theatre.

The Award will be presented by the Under-Secretary of The Ministry of Internal Affairs, Ms. Theodora Tzakri to the graduate of the NTNG Drama School Antigoni Fryda, who excelled in the academic year 2008 – 2009. The event will take place at the Royal Theatre at 20:45, shortly before the beginning of the performance “Isabel, Three Tall Ships and a Conman”.

Dimitris Karellis Award was instituted in 2007 upon decision of the NTNG Administrative Board after the sudden death of the great actor in order to honor his memory, since Dimitris Karellis life route almost identifies with the history of NTNG itself. The Dimitris Karellis Award will be presented every year to the graduate of the NTNG Drana School with the best study record. It involves an honorary plate, a monetary prize of 3.000 €, and an eight-month contract of the actor with the NTNG for the following theatre period.

Dimitris Karellis served in the NTNG for forty years with great dedication demonstrating his unique acting talent in dozens of leading roles of the Greek and global repertoire. For a series of years he taught acting at NTNG Drama School where he also worked as Director of Studies. At the same time, Dimitris Karellis was an ever-active participant in Thessaloniki cultural events and cooperated with many of the city’s cultural bodies.

Dimitris Karellis was born in 1943. He started his acting career at D. Rontiris’ Piraeus Theatre. In 1967 he joined the NTNG where he soon stood out as one of its most worthy and valuable leading actors.

He cooperated with most Greek Theatre directors among whom Sokratis Karantinos, Kostis Mihailides, Takis Mouzenides, Spyros Evangellatos, Kyriazis Haratsaris, Minos Volanakis, Giorgos Sevastikoglou, Andreas Voutsinas, Giannis Iordanides, Giorgos Armenis, Evis Gavriilides, Giannis Houvardas, Vassilis Vafeas, Giannis Rigas, Nikos Haralambous, Vassilis Papavassiliou, Diagoras Chronopoulos and Victoras Arditis.